“HOW TO RECONCILE/MEDIATE THE “MINOR” POSITION(DELEUZE) WITH LIVING IN A HEGEMONICALLY HETEROSEXIST WORLD AND COME OUT EQUAL”:BY STEVEN BENSON

Well,1. I WANT a POSITIVE “minor”, that is gay male, identity.

2. But, I want to avoid the dangers of being PERCEIVED as clothing myself in a “victim identity”/victim identity role(ie, gay people as “minorised”, ie abject subjects or even objects).

3. Being an openly gay man(that is, NOT, I stress NOT, “making a statement” or “thrusting it in people’s faces”{sic!}but just being ONE significant part of  myself.) This,within a “major”, ie predominantly hegemonically heterosexist setting( public or semi-public), is problematic; or, rather, it is PROBLEMATIZED by that very same hegemonic position which(sometimes SUBconsciously) wants to cling to its position of power and predominance; and therefore feels threatened/insecure by any challenge of differance{Derrida} to it. In other words, one is perceived as being obsessed with one’s sexual orientation, “I don’t need to constantly re-iterate my heterosexuality”, etc(Well, no you do not, because it is the norm, nor is it marginalised/”minorised”; it is taken as a given).

So , I have these choices/ways of making headway through this loop:

1. I can purport to not care(what people think). I am, psychologically, able to do this sometimes. But often, to be honest, I feel my subjectivity(in respect of my sexual orientation) is marginalised/sidelined /even ignored, if I do not make this subjective position apparent(by some remark indicating or stating that I am gay); so I make the remark!

2.I can CHOOSE when or when not to self-identify(“out” myself) as a gay man. Obviously, self-preservation dictates that there are certain unsafe/threatening settings where this would be unwise. But , in a setting which occupies the large middleground of heterosexistly normativising assumptions re “major”subjectivity/identity(as regards to assumed sexual orientation), it is a tight decision. Sometimes,I feel I am getting somewhere; then(this actually happened) I get , half-jokingly, labelled an “anarchist”(?!) just by dint of a number of gay-related remarks; ie. merely for being myself, and expressing my own subjectivity(as a “minor” subject). Luckily, and things are gradually improving, some non-gay people “get” it: they are almost invariably women(with a very few straight male exceptions, including my friends!). But CHOOSING when or when not to self-identify can still be  form of EMPOWERMENT: in some ways at least. For example, it reduces the stress levels of coming out in a nongay environment(and this includes public spaces where gay people are THEMSELVES- their individual choice-choosing NOT to self-identify, so I may have no allies here!). So this is one option.

3.the other option is to choose primarily to enter only “nonmajorising” environments (or where there is a TENDENCY, to be realistic) to not enforce(however subconsciously) the heterosexist hegemony; and to concentrate on these; there is obviously an overlap with the groups mentioned in point 2 above.

………………………………………………………………

But, BECAUSE parts of our world are still homophobic and often heterosexist,I (and many other lgbt people) need a seperate safe space sometimes… WHOAH.. this is threatening to some lgbt people, with various levels of internalised self-oppression, never mind straight people who say “well, WE don’t need to seperate off(sometimes)”; ok, they just don’t understand , and I am not averse to educating people gently but firmly, that we live in an unequal world, where there is therefore a NEED for seperate space for marginalised “groups”/groups to be in a safe space/place , where there is a level playing field, as there is in the hegemonic, heterosexual-dominated “major” world.(but THEIR safe space, in this respect, is a given) “This does not mean that I think you are homophobic”.So sometimes I need to be with just other lgbt people; sometimes just with other gay men (but “not ALL the time”, I am careful to insure myself, though, IN {SELF}-ACTUALITY, I don’t need to be with other lgbt people or gay men  all the time!).

…………………………………………………………………………………………

So, some options and some (partial) solutions: the art of living within a primarily heterosexist-assumptive “majorised” world!

About decayetude

ENTHUSIASMS: CLASSICAL MUSIC, ESPECIALLY OBSCURE ROMANTIC COMPOSERS; BACH/HANDEL LITERATURE, ESPECIALLY THOUGHTFUL, WELL-WRITTEN(STYLISTICALLY)NOVELS W G SEBALD WALTER BENJAMIN THEODOR ADORNO(JUST BEGINNING!) AESTHETIC PHILOSOPHY GAY MEN'S WRITING;QUEER THEORY STIMULATING DISCUSSIONS(EMOTIONALLY AND INTELLECTUALLY) GOOD RICH THICK ESPRESSO MICHAEL PONTI SPRITUALITY/LIFE'S "AURA"(BENJAMIN), WHATEVER TRANSCENDENTAL THING YOU WANT TO CALL THIS MEMORY-the elusiveness thereof. LOST TIME AND AN ATTEMPT AT ITS REDEMPTION(NON THEISTICALLY/RELIGIOUSLY)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “HOW TO RECONCILE/MEDIATE THE “MINOR” POSITION(DELEUZE) WITH LIVING IN A HEGEMONICALLY HETEROSEXIST WORLD AND COME OUT EQUAL”:BY STEVEN BENSON

  1. decayetude says:

    Thanks Gill; took a bit of courage to write:)(semi-publically)

Leave a Reply

