THE ILLUMINATED CAFE PART 2

As I walked

Up the stairs,

I heard

The clatter of

Coffee cups

Perhaps espresso…

 

And entered

The centre

And heartbeat

Of the

Bohemian Republic

Where I live…

Redbush tea,

Coffee cafetieres

And, opposite,

The campest,

Most kitsch

Pinkly-painted

Vintage -viewing

Remnants shop,

The window

Emblazoned

And

Arazzledazzle….

 

I could also see

Caribbean cafe and Takeaway

And

A 1950s

Upholstery(sic!)

Business;

Just

From the window

In the

Illuminated Cafe,

Where I soared

From espresso

 

About decayetude

ENTHUSIASMS: CLASSICAL MUSIC, ESPECIALLY OBSCURE ROMANTIC COMPOSERS; BACH/HANDEL LITERATURE, ESPECIALLY THOUGHTFUL, WELL-WRITTEN(STYLISTICALLY)NOVELS W G SEBALD WALTER BENJAMIN THEODOR ADORNO(JUST BEGINNING!) AESTHETIC PHILOSOPHY GAY MEN'S WRITING;QUEER THEORY STIMULATING DISCUSSIONS(EMOTIONALLY AND INTELLECTUALLY) GOOD RICH THICK ESPRESSO MICHAEL PONTI SPRITUALITY/LIFE'S "AURA"(BENJAMIN), WHATEVER TRANSCENDENTAL THING YOU WANT TO CALL THIS MEMORY-the elusiveness thereof. LOST TIME AND AN ATTEMPT AT ITS REDEMPTION(NON THEISTICALLY/RELIGIOUSLY)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE ILLUMINATED CAFE PART 2

  1. Merry says:

    What a wonderful description. And then when I got to the last lines, I laughed: I can imagine you soaring with espresso. Thanks, Steve.

    • Merry says:

      What a wonderful description. And then when I got to the last lines, I laughed: I can imagine you soaring with espresso. Thanks, Steve.

      Later: I’m not replying to my comment above (I am not crazy). I just couldn’t figure out how to post a second comment (I may be dim). I have a question: Is “upholstery” a slang term?

  2. Klara says:

    Nice poem – very evocative with just the right words conjuring up the images & the mood 🙂
    Also wonder about ‘upholstery’

Leave a Reply

